Home > fitness > High Intensity Interval Training

High Intensity Interval Training

One of my favourite least favourite things, pain and pleasure in equal amounts.

Basic idea is that you alternate between working at a high intensity and at a medium intensity for between 10 and 20 minutes taking care to warm up and cool down either side. So for example you might jog for a minute, then sprint for 30 seconds, jog for a minute, sprint for 30 seconds, …

There are all sorts of theories about the best ratio of high intensity to medium intensity but I just like to mix it up a bit: usually 2:1 or 1:1.

You’ll know if you’re doing it right from the level of fear you feel when you step on that treadmill. If your knees aren’t knocking you’re not doing it right!

Its challenging, it hurts, but when you’re done its a hell of a rush. And if you’re interested in fat rush its meant to be the most effective way of doing your cardio.

Give it a go!

Categories: fitness
  1. January 20, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    It is great stuff when doing something like that. I do most of my heavy cardio on an exercise bike at the moment and use a 4:1 ration of heavy to rest.

    I haven’t been working out long but it does what it needs to.

  2. January 20, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    I’m with you… I’m always excited about my sprints, but I fear them too! Tomorrow’s one of those 🙂 But I know it’ll feel so good afterward!

    – Kloé

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

