Home > fitness > Taking Stock

Taking Stock

Another year older today. 34. But compared to how I felt a year ago I feel 10 years younger.

Last January I was drinking too much beer, eating too much curry and take-away, and generally wallowing on my ample backside. As a consequence I weighed 101 kg (220 lbs), to give that perspective I’m 6ft tall (1.82m).

Now I weigh 81.8 kg (180 lbs), look athletic, and carry much more lean mass. I can run again, work out with weights at a high intensity, monster press ups (I could barely do one a year ago), have more flexibility, better balance, and best of all I have far more energy and confidence. I even feel smarter! And I’m immeasurably happier.

So its been a hell of a year for me. Its hurt at times and has been hard work both mentally and physically but I’ve loved it and can’t wait to see the progress I’ve made when I reach 35.

Categories: fitness
  1. January 22, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    First: Happy 34th Birthday! Then, congrats on all the positive changes you’ve made, that’s awesome! I wish everybody would follow your lead 😉

    – Kloé

  2. accidentalfish
    January 22, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

