Home > fitness > 1st Year Anniversary

1st Year Anniversary

Its a year ago this week that I decided to get off my backside, get myself back in shape, and fix the damage done by 3 years of living lazily and, frankly, badly. What really kicked me into gear was getting measured for a dinner suit and discovering that my waistline had expanded to 40″. I was horrified.

So how have I done?

Well I started out weighing 101kg and as I said above a waist of 40″ (I’m 6ft tall). I struggled to run as it caused me pain in my knees and a circuit training session would leave me crawling on the floor. And I drove everywhere. I had no energy and slept poorly.

And now… I weigh 80kg, have a waist of 30″, have no problems with my knees and can run for as long as I have the patience, and circuit training is a great start to my week that leaves me feeling tired but energised. I’ve sold my car and now commute to work and do my weekly shop on a pushbike. I’m nearly always bouncy and perky and usually sleep soundly and deeply.

Getting fit has quite literally changed my life in so many positive ways that its a journey, that although tough at times, I would recommend wholeheartedly to anyone and everyone.

As an aside – I picked up a new commuter bike today, a Trek T7200. Expect a kit review soon but first impressions are good – its very comfortable.

Categories: fitness
  1. February 28, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    Congrats on the anniversary! Keep up the great work.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

  2. Kasia
    March 6, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    I’m really proud of you.All this hard work paid off.I hope you still like me (although I push you really hard)
    Your PT

    • accidentalfish
      March 7, 2010 at 7:07 am

      Except when we’re doing abs!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

