Home > fitness > TRX Bands

TRX Bands

This week I’ve been introduced to TRX Bands by my trainer, or as I’ve come to call them The Bands of Pain. They’re a bisecting strap that you rig up to a beam and use for performing body weight exercises – and boy do they work.

Two particular exercises have lodged themselves firmly in my mind.

Firstly push ups using the bands and a swiss ball. Place your hands in the straps, your feet on a swiss ball, and perform push ups. Due to the precarious nature of your position you have to work hard to stay stable as well as do the push up.

For the second you hold the bands for stability and perform a single leg squat followed by what I can only describe as a twisting single leg squat. Difficult to describe (hire my trainer!) but I’ve never felt my glutes worked so effectively. Gonna be sore tomorrow!

They’re worth checking out but I’d recommend getting someone who knows how to use them to show you how.

Categories: fitness
  1. Kasia
    March 13, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Swiss Ball not Squeeze Ball lol 

  2. accidentalfish
    March 13, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Not sure where that came from. Thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

