Home > fitness > Training Effectively

Training Effectively

I spend a considerable amount of time in the gym working out both for fun, health and in pursuit of my goals. And while I am in no way shape or form a qualified personal trainer something that I’ve noticed more and more as I’ve gained experience is how many people lack any kind of structure to their training and as such seem to drift around somewhat aimlessly.

While this could be connected to a lack of understanding of how to train from the specific (how do I do a squat?) to the general (how do I structure a session) its often more general than that and is simply because they only have a vague notion of why they are in the gym and how to get things done.

Whether training to lose weight, put on muscle or to run a marathon there are some core principles that you need to apply if you are to make the most of the time spent. I would class these as:

1. Set goals.

2. Have a plan.

3. Be consistent.

4. Track your progress.

5. Make yourself accountable.

I’m going to offer my perspective on this over the next couple of weeks.

Update: I snuck in number 4, I was originally going to slot it into one of the others but I think its worth a post all of its own.

Categories: fitness
  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 13, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Leave a Reply

