Home > fitness > From Fat to Fit

From Fat to Fit

While cycling to work this morning I found myself reflecting on exactly when I stopped thinking of myself as fat. And that led to me thinking about what it means to be fat or called fat.

Despite tracking my decreasing weight and waistline as I dropped the pounds I don’t think there was ever a moment when I looked in the mirror and thought “hey you’re not fat anymore”.

Instead I think there was a gradual shift in my mindset from must lose weight to must get fitter.

I do clearly recall when I hit my long term goal of getting under 13 stone, I was elated to get there, but that’s not the same thing.

I’m curious as to if others had an epiphany or also experienced this gradual transition.

And yes I’ve used the word fat in this post. I certainly thought of myself as fat as that’s exactly what I was. Fat. Overweight. Obese. I don’t see it as a derogatory term, though like many words it can be used as such, but instead as a word indicating a physical state.

Whether you attach negative connotations to that state is for you to decide but did I like thinking of myself as fat? No I did not. Not one bit. I think there is no doubt that it’s an unhealthy state to be in and seriously impairs quality of life and that for 99.99% of the population is due to circumstances entirely within their control. In my own case I was fat because I drank too much, ate too much and did too little exercise. In short i was lazy and greedy. Sure I could make excuses about drinking because I wasn’t happy but it boils down to the same thing – a lack of self control. Some people don’t like hearing it but that’s the same for nearly everyone who is overweight.

However that’s not to make light of how easy it is to fall into this trap in today’s society or how hard it is to get out.

But if you are overweight and decide to do something about it then I think accepting and recognising the above will make a huge difference to your chances of success. Don’t hate yourself, or anybody else, for it but use it as a tool to make you resolute in your quest to get fit.

It’s a journey worth taking.

Categories: fitness
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

